Combat Suggestions

Most of these have been said before in other posts, but a few of these I haven’t seen talked about. Also, for the sake of being helpful I’m going to try and limit anything I suggest to what could realistically be implemented (though I’m not a game developer so I may be off on what is easy and not).

Targeting could be made more powerful by letting players tweak the number. This could have a selection like: x targets within x range instead of assuming single target. This could make good group buffs or hastily add in AOE functionality. Maybe even options like “All” for Auras. (In the future this could be pushed to using simple targeting shapes like instead of “targets” you may be able to select shapes (cone, square, circle) and then have the range denoted the origin of the shape from the caster)

For cooldowns, a passive option, or maybe for the game’s sake, a “toggle”, for constant effects. These Constants could turn costs into costs per second. (These could possibly be used to add more abilities into the game. Passives/toggles should be easier to track than having the AI select abilities and track cooldowns so what if every second level gives a Passive ability slot in addition to a normal ability slot, that way classes could be made more unique faster.)
Another idea are different activations for cooldowns - something like # of kills, or amount of health lost.

For casting time, I’d love to see a Channel option, which would be the ability starts immediately, but the player must continue to cast for the effects to apply (basically any time based effect would become as long as the player decided to channel. Maybe the duration could apply only after the channel ends? So a Channel stun of 1 second would last as long as the casts the ability + 1 second)